krotneu.blogg.se

Mac mini 2011 hard drive
Mac mini 2011 hard drivemac mini 2011 hard drive
  1. Mac mini 2011 hard drive for mac#
  2. Mac mini 2011 hard drive install#
  3. Mac mini 2011 hard drive free#
  4. Mac mini 2011 hard drive mac#

Mac mini 2011 hard drive mac#

If you try to use Internet Recovery in your Warrior step, since you have a mid-2011 Mac Mini, you might get OS X Lion or Mountain Lion as your OS X to install. The Apple Wireless keyboard can be a little tricky and my experience has been you have to be patient, press the keys after the boot chime and keep them pressed until you see the screen you want. Then you can run Disk Utility to format your SSD and Reinstall OS X from the OS X Utilities menu.Īs lllaass stated, a USB KB would definitely work. Your Step 2 would be to plug in your USB thumb drive, power up your Mac Mini and via your Wireless KB, press/hold the Option/Alt key until you get the startup manager and you can select your thumb drive. Your Warrior approach steps will work also if you use your USB thumb drive that you created for OS X Mavericks. Last, I completed setup and pointed to my SSD as my Startup Disk. Then I installed the SSD into the MBP, power it up while holding the Option/Alt key and selected the SSD to boot into.

Mac mini 2011 hard drive install#

After the install completed and rebooted to my SSD and at the setup screen, I powered off the MBP. Then, I went to the App Store and downloaded/installed OS X Mavericks to my SSD. And if you could just add another hard drive inside the already compact Mac mini nothing could be better. From my OS X Desktop, I opened Disk Utility and formated the SSD. Did you know the new Apple Mac Mini has enough space inside to install an extra second hard drive The Apple Mac mini is a small power packed complete computer, simply add a monitor, wireless keyboard and mouse and you have a advanced desktop to work with. I plugged in my external enclosure (containing the blank SSD) to my MBP and booted to my internal HDD. Your Safe bet steps are what I did when I installed an SSD in an early-2011 MBP. How am I supposed to get into recovery mode then ? I Googled that and found out that this is normal behaviour on a Mac with a wireless keyboard. I tried to use several keyboard combinason without any luck. I do not want to clone the install I'm running know on my standard HD. First, seems the TRIM support only will work on Apples stack SSD, can not be achieved by 3rd vendor. Here are few things I want to share with anyone interested in the SSD. Just so you know, what I'm trying to do is a fresh install of Mavericks, from scratch. Ordered the i7 Mini and can not wait to open it up, upgraded to 8G memory and, of course, the 256G SSD (Samsung). When you have finished, restart and disconnect your HDD.įirst off, thanks for taking the time to answer.

mac mini 2011 hard drive

Get a USB to SATA adapter, connect the HDD and follow these steps with Disk Utility > Choose your HDD as "Source" and the SSD as "Destination". In case you want to clone your HDD to the SSD, you can use the Restore feature in Disk Utility to do it. Then, format the SSD with Disk Utility > Finally, close Disk Utility and reinstall OS X. You have to hold the Alt key while your computer is starting up in order to show all bootable partitions, so you will be able to choose the OS X Mavericks installer flash drive. how will I be able to make a fresh install of Mavericks ? I made a bootable Mavericks install usb stick, but haven't found out a way yet to boot on it (I have a wireless Apple keyboard, and holding the cmd key when booting won't pop any disk manager) If your Mac mini does not start up automatically into Internet Recovery, hold Command, Option (Alt) and R keys while your computer is starting up.

Mac mini 2011 hard drive free#

FREE Shipping on orders over 25 shipped by Amazon.

Mac mini 2011 hard drive for mac#

This will give you the option to format the SSD and install OS X. SATA Hard Drive Cable 821-1500-A 821-1501-A SSD HDD Upgrade Kit Replacement for Mac Mini A1347 2011 2012. Your Mac may not start up or the Mac mini will start up into Internet Recovery. What will happen when I first boot my Mini after I replaced the HDD with the SSD ? As of now, this drive is in stock state, I guess not even formatted and empty.

Mac mini 2011 hard drive